Click on the image above to get started

In the Presidential Election of 1820, James Monroe ran unopposed as the Federalist Party conceded the election. In 1824 John Quincy Adams, Andrew Jackson, William Crawford and Henry Clay all ran as Anti-Federalists 

Andrew Jackson won the most electoral votes, but did not receive the number required to win the Presidency.  Even though John Quincy Adams received fewer popular votes, and electoral votes than Jackson, he was elected President by the members of the House of Representatives.

As a result of a corrupt bargain between Adams and Henry Clay, Jackson inspired the creation of the Democratic Party.

Because the political parties did not want to have more than one candidate representing their party they began to have National nominating conventions.

Views: 3

Reply to This


  • Add Photos
  • View All

© 2022   Created by Morton IX.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service